The World is Full of Rainbows

Kim Buchwald
2 min readAug 1, 2022

Even if you can’t always see them.

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/persons-hands-with-rainbow-colors-3693901/

The other day I saw rainbows (yes multiple). While sitting in the back seat of my friend’s Subaru, heading to the local swim spot. My glasses with polarized lenses made the world through the car’s windows a prism. The once black tar of the newly sealed driveway became a solid spectrum: red, orange, yellow, green and blue. The sunlight through the tree tops danced in technicolor. The world was something totally different, new, joyful, mine.

But then again, what I see is always mine. The world with my glasses on is just as real an experience as the world with my glasses off. The perspective of which, the color of which, is what I choose to make it.

Which is to say, what if what we see isn’t the only way to see it? What if the perspective you choose to take allows you to experience the world differently, to fundamentally show up in the world differently?

To dance in between the rainbows.

Or to remember that rainbows exist.

I used to be really frustrated by people that would tell me that happiness is a choice because it felt like bypassing the very real experience of living in my body, with a past that I was still processing, and in my mind with anxiety and low grade depression. In many ways these people telling me to be happy…

--

--

Kim Buchwald

Writing about the relationship we hold with ourselves. Founder of @theartofgoodenough a platform dedicated to wellness rooted in love and presence.